RSS

Bad habits

18 May

Since I sorta giving up IM temporarily, I’ve been blogging and writing online diary a lotttt. I guess it’s a way of letting out some thoughts.


So many reasons that drove my to stop chatting. For one, I need to be more focused on my research. My mind couldn’t be where it should 100% if I stay online.


Other things are the bad habits that have been developed from chatting waaay too much. When you get used to the chatting at certain time of the day, you’ll get frustrated when your IM pals are not online. It’s hard for me because I’m aboard, not so many people I know are still here. Plus, I’m an early person, most of my friends here are nocturnal so they’re up sometimes three in the afternoon (and we don’t really chat just meet up and talk). When I got addicted to IM, I spent the time I should be thinking about research or reading useful stuff doing something else. Well, the bad habits didn’t end there.


Sometimes, it got worse when the chatting changed from fun stuff i.e. news, food, books, etc, etc to judging people some of my IM buddies and I don’t even know/interact with online or offline. [Sometimes, it’s not even constructive opinions which it got to the point that’s uncomfortable to me even to read/hear about it. :(]


I normally don’t like gossiping(there are so many other things in the world to talk about), updating news about friends is also fine by me. But, giving bad bad opinions about people OR making fun of people is off limit to me. No. I’m not saying that I’m better than my partners in crimes(some IM buddies), but I simply don’t want to be a part of it anymore [People from time to time get carried away(me included, you know)]. I mean I don’t even like to do it in everyday conversation, why should I start doing it i.e. listen/discuss it via IM? Felt really bad about myself so I decided it’s time to stop (for me). I couldn’t change how other live their lives, but I certainly can change me.


Soooo, from the aforementioned and some other things, in the future I think I would certainly keep my IM online time to bare minimum, just to chitchat to update their “own” news. Then, I will have more time to something good and useful besides gluing to the screen chatting. : )
[Good thing: I’ve been giving up the IM for 2or3 weeks and counting, I don’t have the urge to go back online just to judge or make fun of any people ^^]



Do you think people have tendencies to abuse IM?







PS. If you’re curious; no, he is hardly online ja .. too busy doing a lot of stuff. ; )

 
7 Comments

Posted by on May 18, 2007 in Life

 

7 responses to “Bad habits

  1. EscRiBiTioNiSt*

    May 18, 2007 at 10:12 pm

    I used to be addicted a lot of IM. Although I still have many messengers (Yahoo, MSN, and Skype) installed in my laptop, I rarely use them.

    Yahoo was my favourite, but now I just have it for e-mail notification (and might uninstall it later because I gradually stop using my Yahoo mail account, and change to Gmail).

    ICQ was used when I first started using the Internet. It was very popular at the time, but I have not had the programme in my PC for a long time………

    MSN is the most commonly used one because lots of friends and Thai people like using it, and sometimes we need it for chit-chatting or group working.

    Skype is what I mainly use for work and in office.

    .

    I became to focus more on writing for quite some time. Chatting in a chat room kinda bores me as I have nothing to talk about, unlike when I was young that I could just cruise around and talk about everything.. (Erm… sounds like I’m getting much older now.. haha).

    Now, blogging is my favourite hobby in the cyberworld.

    As you said, we can give out our ideas and what in minds thru blogging.
    🙂

     
  2. EscRiBiTioNiSt*

    May 18, 2007 at 10:14 pm

    Somehow, I cannot see my comment posted, and cannot re-post (detected as duplicate!!) _*_

    Re the last question, ‘Do you think people are abusing IM?’

    I would say.. not everyone abuse IM.. Some know how to make good use of it.. some don’t..

    It’s like we have the good and the bad..

    ..

     
  3. EscRiBiTioNiSt*

    May 18, 2007 at 10:15 pm

    _*_……….. I typed a lot.. and rarely put my comment directly in the post.. (but type in the notepad first)…

    Unfortunately, this time I just typed it here, and I lost all………….

    *Whining*

     
  4. bpitti

    May 18, 2007 at 10:39 pm

    uhm .. I see 2 comments with no duplication.
    .
    .
    And you said you typed a lot ………. etc etc
    but, I don’t see a lot.
    Whining sniff sniff sob sob

     
  5. bpitti

    May 18, 2007 at 10:54 pm

    I see it now .. hahah
    Your 1st comment was detected as spam, seems weird, hah?
    .
    .
    Wow, you were in the ICQ era too hahah. And, ICQ lost its popularity to Thai people since Microsoft included the program into Windows 2000 or ME(not sure which one).
    .
    .
    I lost interest in Chatroom for quite sometime now. (And, I get younger and younger everyday.😛 )
    .
    .
    I think there is nothing wrong about chitchat with frinds regarding your life or theirs OR tease each other just for fun.
    .
    .
    I guess ’cause people draw their lines differently.🙂

     
  6. EscRiBiTioNiSt*

    May 19, 2007 at 2:01 am

    Aggh… Please don’t use the word ERA… sounds I am very old……….. !! Hahaaaaaaaa

    ็So happy that my lengthy comment is there.. hhaaa!!

     
  7. Khun T

    May 20, 2007 at 10:27 am

    IM is just a communication tool, just like a cellular phone. I leave it on-line all day. Nowadays, some of my contact using it instead of email, just leave message to me even I am not response back. MSN support this kind of behavior as well, by providing the feature to send the message when this other side online. So this could be global net citizen behavior.

     

Leave a Reply

 
